Zines (pronounced: "ZEENs") are self-published materials that can be about anything. They are created and distributed based on their makers' passions and interests, not with the intent to profit. They are usually published with accessible and low-cost materials such as a home printer or copy machine. KFL established our zine collection to expand the representation of materials in the library to include authors of marginalized backgrounds and those writing outside of academia. We also collect zines created by UCCS students.
For a more in depth definition of zines, see Dr. Lilith Cooper's writing, "Zines 101."
UCCS faculty and staff members can check out up to 3 kits for one week, with renewals. Students and members of the public can browse the zines in the library but cannot check them out.
The Pikes Peak Zine Festival is held annually in October. KFL tables at the festival to share out works created by UCCS students and collect donations for the collection. If you would like to donate zines to UCCS, please contact the library. We would be happy to receive additional materials.
You can find a full list of KFL zines in the library catalog. KFL's zine collection is organized into kits based on different subjects. A variety of different titles can be found in each kit. You can check each kit's catalog record for a full list of titles.
Librarians recognize that there is ambiguity in the subject matter and some zines might fit into multiple categories. Here is an overview for how we differentiate between similar themes and select materials for different kits.
Works in the abolition collection emphasize specific oppressive systems, such as the prison and war industrial complexes. The mutual aid collection deals more with community and individual skill building.
Materials in the mental health collection address specific diagnoses that result after consulting a medical professional such as PTSD, bipolar disorder, and depression. The wellness collection addresses more holistic, general care. The neurodivergence collection includes materials by neurodivergent creators discussing their experiences within that identity.
The conservation kit contains zines about ecology and finding wilderness outside of human interventions. The outdoors kit includes materials about cultivated wilderness, such as gardening and outdoor sports.
The transportation kit is about specific modes of transportation such as cars, trains and planes but not bicycles, which are included in the outdoors kit. The migration kit includes zines about crossing borders and the metaphysical aspects of travel; it includes a subsection of Spanish-language material.
The physical health kit presents topics about the bodily presentation of health issues, with an emphasis on zines created by people with disabilities. The sexual health kit addresses topics relating to sexual organs and issues related to sexual wellness such as consent, sexually transmitted diseases, and reproductive freedom.
The indigenous storytelling kit prioritizes material created by zinesters with Native American tribal identities.
Zine sometimes are published anonymously or under a pseudonym. When citing zines, respecting the author's privacy is the first priority; getting the information necessary to create a citation is secondary. Generally speaking, you are only going to write a citation with information provided on the zine itself.
The essential information you need to build a citation includes:
Works Cited:
Author last name, first initial. (Year of Publication). Title of Zine [Zine] Volume or issue number.
In-text citation:
(Author, date of publication, page number)
Works Cited:
Author last name, first name. Title of Zine. Zine. Volume or issue number. City of publication: Year published.
In-text citation:
Author first name and last name, Title of Zine, Volume / Issue number (City of publication, year published), page(s) you are references
Works Cited:
Author last name, first name. "Title of Zine." [Zine] Volume or issue number. City of publication. Year published.
In-text citation:
(Author, page number)
The Paw Prints user portal allows UCCS students to print in the library and across campus.
You can also reach out to the Copy Center, located in the UCCS Campus Store. Prices vary by print quantity.
The Pikes Peak Library District offers $7 worth of free printing each week to PPLD card holders. Reach out to your local branch for more information.
