Research Guides: Chemistry Research: Getting Started

What can the Library help me with?

You can use the Library to find and access:

Sources listing the physical and chemical properties of substances (including spectra)
Chemistry journals that publish research articles
Print and online books with practice problems in subjects like general and organic chemistry
The American Chemical Society's (ACS) style guide for writing papers
Overleaf - a popular LaTeX editor for collaborative writing that requires scientific formulae

Who can help me with this?

If you want help finding any of these resources, you can contact me (Norah Mazel) with the information on the left side of this page. I am the subject librarian that specialized in chemistry.

Does the Library offer tutoring?

No. If you need help with chemistry homework or test preparation, use the Excel Science Center. They provide tutoring and peer assisted study sessions.

Quick Links

Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
An authoritative reference source to look up the physical properties of compounds and other chemical information.
If you encounter an error accessing this resource, please try clearing your browser's cache.
Merck Index (15th edition)
An encyclopedia of biomedical information, "the Merck Index is a world renowned, authoritative handbook of chemical, pharmaceutical and biomedical information that contains more than 10,000 monographs, 32 supplemental tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions and almost 1000 retired monographs."

Databases

SciFinder
Registration with a UCCS email address is required to use SciFinder. If you do not have an account, please start here.

SciFinder provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, the CAS Registry, Chemcat, Chemlist, and Medline. It includes citations to journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstracts database covering the following fields: chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, economics, and environmental sciences.
American Chemical Society Publications (ACS)
The peer-reviewed journals of ACS publish cutting-edge articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines -- agricultural science, biotechnology, analytical chemistry, applied chemistry, biochemistry & molecular biology, chemical biology, chemical engineering, computer science, crystallography, energy & fuels, food science, environmental science, inorganic & nuclear chemistry, material science, medicinal chemistry, organic chemistry, pharmacology, physical chemistry, plant sciences, polymer science, and toxicology.
PubMed
View PubMed Tutorials
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE citations, its largest component, as well as "in process" citations for new publications, resources that are out-of-scope for Medline, and more. This database is free and available to all via the Web but some full text links will only work for authorized UCCS affiliated users.

Kraemer Family Library

Chemistry Research

Guide Created by