You'll often be asked to find research articles for class assignments, and the best place to search for these is in our library databases. Below are some database recommendations and search tips to help you locate the articles you're looking for.
Search or browse through information on natural products and alternative medicine. Alternatively, you can also search by diseases and medical conditions to learn the natural medicines that may be effective to treat.
Most databases will include a list of subject terms for each article to show what concepts or terms that database uses to organize the article. These terms are great to add to your search to find similar results and to expand your search keywords. You can find them in a few different places:
If you're searching in OneSearch, you can see the subject terms for a source by clicking on the More Info option below each source:
If you're searching in CINAHL or another Ebsco database, you find subject terms on the detailed record page (page that appears after you click the article title in the results list). They are usually listed above the abstract as Major Subject Terms, Subject Terms, etc.
In PubMed, you can find additional MeSH terms to use as keywords by viewing the article record and expanding the section labeled Publication Type, MeSH terms.
Medical subject headings (MeSH) are the controlled vocabulary used by the National Library of Medicine. The NLM created the database MEDLINE and the search tool PubMed. MeSH are applied to any article indexed in MEDLINE by subject analysts at the NLM, so MeSH can be used to search in MEDLINE and PubMed. Although other databases don't necessarily use MeSH to categorize articles, they're helpful terms to know because they provide a commonly recognized medical name for a condition, intervention, population, or concept.
You can match your topic to MeSH using the MeSH search tool:
Ancestry searching is a technique that looks for more information by finding the articles cited by a source (parents) and the articles that also site that source (children). It's called ancestry searching because you are looking both back and forward in the "generations" of research.
View full text 
Look to the right of the article for Full Text Links. There you can find either the PMC Full Text Free button or the Search UCCS Button.
Permalink back to this article
Combine the article DOI with this prefix: https://libproxy.uccs.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/. Place the DOI number immediately after the doi.org/ (e.g. https://libproxy.uccs.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1038/pr.2016.205). This will created a proxied link directly to the article.
Generate a citation 
To generate a citation for this article, click the Cite button on the right side of the page under Actions.
View full text 
If the PDF or HTML full text are not linked to the article, clikc on the Search for print or electronic full-text link on the left side of the record.
Permalink back to this article 
The URL at the top of the page will stop working after a few hours. Be sure to grab the permalink by clicking on the chain link button on the right side of the page to get a permalink.
Generate a citation 
Use the Cite button on the right side of the article record to quickly generate a citation for this source.
View full text
This very small button that takes you to the full text tends to be hidden right below the first row of buttons, before the article information.
Permalink back to this article
For Scopus, you can just use the full URL at the top of the page.
Generate a citation 
First choose More... from the row of buttons above the article information. Then choose Create bibliography. Choose your citation style and hit the Create Bibliography button.