The Kraemer Family Library established a circulating game collection in 2023. The collection contains a variety of analog games including board, card, lawn, and role-playing games. UCCS students can check out up to 3 games at a time; games can be checked out for one week, with one renewal.
The most up-to-date list of all games in KFL's collection is available in the library's catalog. Because the collection is constantly growing, KFL librarians do not maintain lists of titles in the game collection by genre, theme, complexity, or subject. If you would like a list developed for a specific class or project, please reach out to your subject liaison to discuss curation options.
There are some games for which the library has one "reference" copy which does not circulate, to ensure that they can always be played in the library:
The library collects games to provide students with opportunities for socialization and leisure. However, games can also be a classroom tool for instructors to create engaging learning experiences. To encourage this use, UCCS staff and faculty can check out games for 3 weeks, with one renewal.
If you would like to recommend a title be added to the collection for any reason, please reach out!
KFL also accepts donations of games, in accordance with our gift policy.
This is a list of recommended digital collections, journals, podcasts, and video channels that can found outside of the library to provide additional information about specific games and trends in the industry as they intersect with scholarship.
There are numerous awards recognizing accomplishments in game design and creation. This list includes some of the awards that librarians consult when selecting games for the library's collection.
These are formatting guidelines for referencing both analog and video games in scholarly works. You can use the "cite this" feature in the library's catalog to help build your citations for games in the library's collection but always double check those citations against official formatting guidelines.
Games are sometimes released by different companies as they go in and out of publication- when in doubt, refer directly to the game box or contents of the version you have been playing.
Reference List:
Author's last name, First initial. Second initial, if given. (Year of Publication). Name of game [Board game]. Publisher Name.
Developer or Publisher. (Year). Title of game (Version number) [Platform]
In-text Citation:
If author is known: (Author's last name, Year)
If author is unknown: (Game title, Year)
According to the MLA Handbook, the titles of video games are italicized but board, card, or other forms of games are not italicized. If no author is listed, begin citation with the game title.
Title of game. Version, Number, Publisher, Publication Date, Location.
Developer or Publisher. Title of game. Version number, Platform, Date of Release.
In-text citation:
(Author) OR (Game title)
(Developer/Publisher, Timestamp or location marker)
Reference List:
Author's last name, first name. Title of game. Version, Platform, Year of Release. Publisher, City of Publication.
Developer or Publisher. Year. Title of game. Platform
In-text citation:
(Author's Last Name, Title of game.)
(Developer/Publisher, Title of game, Timestamp if applicable)
