Skip to Main Content

Kraemer Family Library

Health Sciences and Human Physiology and Nutrition Research

Learn about the library resources available for health science and human physiology and nutrition students, with tips on how to locate research articles in these areas.

Finding Research Articles

You'll often be asked to find research articles for class assignments, and the best place to search for these is in our library databases, which are basically websites which host articles and/or links to articles. Below are some database recommendations and search tips to help you locate the articles you're looking for.

Search Tools By Topic

Health Promotion

Nutrition

Physiology

Athletic Training/Sport Medicine

Coming Up With More Search Terms

Subject Terms

Most databases (websites where you can search for articles) will include a list of subject terms for each article to show what concepts or terms the database uses to organize the article. These terms are great to add to your search to find similar results and to expand your search keywords. You can find them in a few different places.

OneSearch (aka the main search bar on the library's website)

If you're searching in OneSearch, you can see the subject terms for a source by clicking on the More Info option below each source.

CINAHL or Other EBSCO Products (MEDLINE, PsycINFO, SportDiscus)

If you're searching in CINAHL or another Ebsco database, you can find subject terms on the detailed record page (page that appears after you click the article title in the results list). They are usually listed above the abstract as Major Subject Terms, Subject Terms, etc.

PubMed

In PubMed, the main type of subject term that you will see is MeSH headings. These are used to make searching for related subjects easier. You can find MeSH terms to use as keywords by viewing article records and expanding the section labeled Publication Type, MeSH terms.

Search Tool Features

PubMed

  • View full text  Search UCCS Button from PubMed.
    • Look to the right of the article for Full Text Links. There you can find either the PMC Full Text Free button or the Search UCCS Button.
  • Permalink back to this article 
    • Combine the article DOI with this prefix: https://libproxy.uccs.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/. Place the DOI number immediately after the doi.org/ (e.g. https://libproxy.uccs.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1038/pr.2016.205). This will create a proxied link directly to the article so that you can access the article off campus.
  • Generate a citation  PubMed Cite button. A quotation mark and the word Cite on blue.
    • To generate a citation for this article, select Cite on the right side of the page under Actions. Be sure to double check the formatting and information within the citation.

Ebsco Databases (e.g. CINAHL, MEDLINE, PsycInfo, SportDiscus)

  • View full text  Search for Full Text button

    • If the PDF or HTML full text are not linked to the article, select the Search for full-text link in Access Options. 

  • Permalink back to this article Ebsco permalink button
    • The URL at the top of the page will stop working after a few hours. Be sure to grab the permalink by selecting the share button at the top of the page, then select Create Link to get a permalink.

  • Generate a citation 

    • Use the Cite button, which looks like a quotation mark, on the top of the article record then select the citation style from the drop-down menu to quickly generate a citation for this source. Be sure to double check the formatting and information within the citation.

Scopus

  • View full text
    • Select either View PDF or Full Text Options located before the abstract to find the full text of the article.
  • Permalink back to this article
    • For Scopus, you can just use the full URL at the top of the page. 

Searching for Cited Articles

Ancestry searching is a technique that looks for more information by finding the articles cited by a source (parents) and the articles that also cite that source (children). It's called ancestry searching because you are looking both backwards and forwards in the "generations" of research.

Finding Parents (Cited Sources)

  1. Use the works cited list on your article. Do any of the sources sound like they deal with the same topics? Are they recent enough to meet the requirements of your assignment?

  2. Make a list of the articles you are interested in.

  3. Use Google Scholar or OneSearch to look them up and determine their availability. 

Finding Children (Sources Citing Your Source)

  1.  Put the title of your source into Google Scholar. 

  2.  When you've found your source as a result, click on the Cited By link below it. 

Google Scholar result with Cited by link circled.

  •  Do any of the sources sound like they deal with the same topics? 
  •  If you get too many Cited By  results, you can check the Search Within Citing Articles box and enter additional keywords (probably the same as you've been using to research your topic) to limit the results to those that are most relevant to you. 

Google Scholar Cited By Results with Search within citing articles checkbox pointed out.