Research Guides: Physics Research: Find Articles, Books, and Conference Proceedings

Search for Articles and Conference Proceedings

In physics, original research is generally published in journal articles and conference proceedings. Here are some of the resources you can use to search for articles on a topic or to access a specific article by title.

Society Publishers

Some professional organizations (like the American Physical Society or SPIE) maintain digital libraries where you can search for articles published in their journals.

Institute of Physics Journals (IOP) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to many journals published by the Institute of Physics (IOP).
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Searches the Proceedings of SPIE from 1990 to present as well as several SPIE journals.
PROLA - Physical Review Online Archive This link opens in a new window
The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive. Includes all APS full-text content from1893 to present.

Databases

Databases that aren't tied to a specific publisher let you search for articles and conference proceedings from a wide range of sources at one time.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstracts database covering the following fields: chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, economics, and environmental sciences.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
An open access, e-print server of Mathematics and Physics articles, many submitted by authors prior to publication in journals. Hosted by Cornell University.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Books

Books are helpful when you want an introduction to or background information on a specific topic. You can search for print and electronic books using the One Search tool at the top of this page.

Here are some areas you can browse books on selected topics inside the library:

QC173.55-173.65: Relativity

QC174: Quantum Mechanics

QC176: Solid State Physics

QC350-467: Optics

QC717.6-718.8: Plasma Physics

QC750-766: Magnetism

QC793-793.5: Particle Physics

Physics Research: Find Articles, Books, and Conference Proceedings

OneSearch

Search for Articles and Conference Proceedings

In physics, original research is generally published in journal articles and conference proceedings. Here are some of the resources you can use to search for articles on a topic or to access a specific article by title.

Society Publishers

Databases

Books