Research Guides: International Business Research: Industry & Product Research

Main Product Databases

Statista
Statista provides market and consumer data and quantitative facts by market sector, encompassing agriculture, finance, politics, and more. This statistics portal integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Passport Express
Passport Express is a global strategic intelligence research database holding local and international statistics, industry-standard data and analysis, as well as multi-country coverage of products, services, companies, channels, consumers, economics, demographics, social trends.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text and abstracts to scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.This database is updated on a daily basis.

Industry Research

Websites like the one's below can help you classify, 'translate' sectors and industries across different classification systems, and look up trade policies.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Harmonized Product Codes
Used by most countries in the world, but not every single one, so make sure and research.
EU Product/Trade Research
Product research to help you in exporting to and from EU countries.
US Trade Respresentative
US gov website to research trade policies on a variety of issue areas.

Secondary Product & Industry Databases

MarketLine Advantage
Find Industry & Product Analysis and sort by geography to get an idea about industries and products in different regions.

To learn more about how to use Marketline Advantage, check out the Using Marketline Advantage research guide. The Industry Analysis page might be most useful.

Kraemer Family Library

International Business Research

Main Product Databases

Industry Research

Secondary Product & Industry Databases