Research Guides: Nursing Research: Finding Statistics

Lists of Statistical Resources

This page contains three lists of statistical resources that you may find useful. The sections are organized around what the resources cover best: Health Issues, Surveys & Topics; Mental Health & Substance Abuse; Other Data & Statistical Resources.

Health Issues, Surveys, & Topics

The following are websites that you can use to find statistics on health issues, surveys, and topics. Read through the descriptions to see which of these might be the most useful based on your topic.

AIDS Public Information (CDC Wonder)
This data set contains counts of AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome) cases reported to CDC by state and local health departments from 1981-2002. Case counts can be retrieved by demographics, case-definition, date of diagnosis, date of report, HIV exposure group (risk factors), and mortality.
Atlas Plus (CDC)
The CDC's current data on HIV, Hepatitis, STDs, and TB.
DHS Program (Demographic and Health Surveys)
DHS surveys collect data on marriage, fertility, family planning, reproductive health, child health, and HIV/AIDS in developing countries. Unrestricted survey data files for legitimate academic research are available at no cost. To access the data, registration is required.
AHRQ: Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project (HCUP)
Includes databases and related tools developed through a Federal-State-Industry partnership sponsored by AHRQ. They enable research on a range of health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, State, and local market levels based on data collection efforts of organizations in participating States that maintain statewide data systems and are Partners with AHRQ.
MEPS (Medical Expenditure Panel Survey)
The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey, or MEPS as it is commonly called, is the third (and most recent) in a series of national probability surveys conducted by AHRQ on the financing and utilization of medical care in the United States.
National Center for Health Statistics
The principle U.S. Governmental health statistics agency, NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.
National Survey of America's Families
A product of the Urban Institute, the survey provides a comprehensive look at the well-being of children and non-elderly adults, and reveals sometimes striking differences among the 13 states studied in depth.
OECD Health Statistics
Examines national health systems from 1960 forward for OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) member countries in a general, demographic, economic, and social context.
Population Research Center at NORC & the University of Chicago
This site makes data from some of the Population Research Center's projects available. Interesting datasets include the National Health and Social Life Survey, the Chicago Health and Social Life Survey, and the Chinese Health and Family Life Survey. These surveys profile sexual behavior, demography and health.

Mental Health & Substance Abuse

If you are looking for statistics on mental health and/or substance abuse the following websites may be a great starting point for you.

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
Established in 1984 to track behavioral health risk in the United States. Behavior and risk categories include: exercise, being overweight, use of seatbelts, tobacco and alcohol, etc.
Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA)
Topics covered include: health care providers, cost of and access to health care, substance abuse, chronic conditions, and other health related topics.
National Survey on Drug Use & Health
Provides drug and alcohol use incidence and prevalence estimates and report the consequences and patterns of use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian population aged 12 and older. Also asks a set of questions about mental health treatment. Also at ICPSR.

Other Data & Statistical Resources

The following are miscellaneous statistical resources that you may find helpful for your searches. Read through the descriptions to see if they might line up with what you are looking for.

Agency for Healthcare and Research Quality: Data & Surveys
Contains longitudinal hospital care data for the United States.
CDC FastStats A-Z
Statistics and links to publications reporting on public health topics.
CDC Wonder
Provides access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data.
Data.gov
Provides access to official statistical information produced by the Federal Government on various topics including health care. You do not have to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
Kaiser State Health Facts
A non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S. Search by state or topic.
MedlinePlus: Health Statistics
This site provides data about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in a language suited for non-medical professionals. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)
A search tool for research datasets, instruments and software relevant to health services research, behavioral and social sciences, and public health provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

more... less...

DOES NOT WORK
US Census Bureau
Multi-disciplinary searches on population statistics of communities in the United States.
Statistical Abstract
WHO (World Health Organization): Data Sets
Provides an international perspective on health statistics.

Kraemer Family Library

Nursing Research

Lists of Statistical Resources

Health Issues, Surveys, & Topics

Mental Health & Substance Abuse

Other Data & Statistical Resources