Business Research

MarketLine Advantage is a database that provides extensive industry and company information. This resource is an excellent option when viewing SWOT Analyses, finding company financial information, and evaluating industry statistics and data. Visit the MarketLine Advantage research guide for more detailed information on how to use this resource.

Company Information

To view company information:

1. choose the Companies tab at the top of the screen.
2. Use the search menu on the left-hand side of the screen to enter the name of the company you are interested in evaluating and click the search button.
   1. You can also refine results by Industry & Geography, Company Attributes, and Financial information using the dropdown menus.

A results list of companies matching your search term will be displayed. Choose which company you would like view, then the company overview page will be displayed.

Company Profile

This page contains a Company Summary, Key Stats, Latest News, and Total Revenue and Net Income.

To export the company profile, choose either a PDF or Word document in the Export Section in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. To view more detailed information, look for the menu on the left-hand side of the screen. 

From the menu on the left-hand side of the screen, you can view:

• Detailed company Financials, including revenue, profit, and assets
• Current company News, indexed from newspapers, magazines, and trade publications
• Information about company Peers and competitors
• Research Reports, including industry profiles, case studies, value & supply chain analysis, and analyst insights
• Information on Deals, including M&A, corporate venturing, and partnerships
• Detailed company SWOT Analysis

Industry Information

To view Industry information in MarketLine:

1. Click on to the Analysis tab at the top of the screen, choose
2. Industry Analysis, then,
3. Industry Profiles.

Passport Express provides both statistics and analysis of industries, economies, and consumers. This database is especially helpful if you are interested in viewing market shares and industry growth.

Industry Information

To evaluate an industry:

1. choose the Industries tab on the top menu, then
2. choose which sector of the industry to evaluate, and
3. continue selecting narrower categories.

After choosing an industry sector, an industry overview screen will appear. You can delve into detailed datasets, Dashboards, or Latest Reports, among others.

The Dashboard includes an Industry Overview, and a Forecast model with data visualizations.

1. Use the drop down menu in the box on the left to narrow to even more subcategories,
   1. use plus and minus signs to expand the subcategories, then click Next.
2. Select geographical location(s) to analyze, then click View Results at the top right.

You will land on the Statistics page which includes datasets like: market sizes, company shares, brand shares, retail channels, producer company shares, and trade statistics.

Navigating to the Analysis tab will allow you to explore various Datagraphics, Opinions, and Briefings based on the subcategory you chose.

The Dashboard tab will provide you with a data visualization of the Industry Overview.

If the company you would like to evaluate is privately owned or traded, you will need to use the PrivCo database to locate company information.

If you are prompted to sign in, select Direct Access. 

To start, type in the name of a company in the main search bar displayed at the top of the page, then select the name in the drop down results, or results page.

At the top of the company's web page, there are several options on what information to view:

• The Overview will tell you basic information, included when the company was founded, a company description, and the primary company contacts.
• The Financials section provides key information about the valuation of the company, its income, balance sheet, and cash flow.
• The Funding section details information about investors and investor type.
• Deals lists the company's deals by date, buyer, target, type, and price.
• The Signals tab assigns a database-specific growth score to the company and information about the Employee & Revenue Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR).