Research Guides: US Federal Government Sources: The Legislative

Legislative Branch Overview

Browse General Congressional Publications
Congress.gov
The main portal for the United States Congress. Includes link to live floor video feeds from both houses. For more audio and visual coverage, see AV Coverage from congress.gov.
Project Vote Smart
Search and browse voting records for current federal, state, and local officials.
The Congressional Record (Daily)
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.
more...less...
At the end of each session, the daily editions are collected and bound into the The Bound Congressional Record. This resource usually lags a few congresses behind

U.S. congressional serial set
Call Number: Government Documents Y 1.1/2:
The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress.

Congressional Serial Set at HathiTrust
Congressional Research Service Reports
By law, the Congressional Research Service provides research and analysis to committees and members of the House and Senate. This collection provides the public access to those reports. See also EveryCRSReport.com which contains many but not actually every CRS Report.

House Floor Schedule
Floor proceedings, bills, and votes.
Committee Hearing Schedules
Daily House committee hearings organized alphabetically.
House Committee Membership
Current Congress only. Links to each committee's website.
Journal of the House of Representatives (1992-2017)
The Journal is the official record of proceedings of each legislative day in the House of Representatives. For older House Journals, see the American Memory collection of the first 43 sessions.

Senate Calendars and Floor Schedules
Current and previous floor schedules and Senate Legislative and Executive Calendars.
Senate Committee Meetings/Hearings Schedule
Provides a list of daily meetings and hearings with a brief description of their purpose.
Senate Committee Membership
Current Congress only. Select a committee from the drop-down menu for a list of members and subcommittees as well as a link to the committee's website.
Journal of the Senate of the United States (108th Congress to present)
The Journal is the official record of the proceedings of each legislative day of the Senate. For older Senate Journals, see the American Memory collection of the first 43 sessions.