This is the "Home" page of the "Government Information " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information   Tags: government information  

A Guide for Locating and Accessing Government Documents and Web Resources
Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uccs.edu/govdoc Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

YOUR GOVERNMENT INFORMATION LIBGUIDE

This guide will lead you to the many government documents available through Kraemer Family Library.  The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its government information. Since 1813 depository libraries have collected,organized, preserved, and assisted users with information from the Federal Government.

Government documents include any publication issued by a government agency. This guide will help you locate information published in such documents.  Searching for government documents can be complicated and, therefore, somewhat daunting.  But it can also be interesting and rewarding if approached with a sense of adventure and exploration.  I hope this guide will be helpful in your search. 

The Kraemer Family Library has been  a Selective Depository in the Federal Depository System since 1974, collecting approximately 34% of all documents published in a variety of formats.  The specific titles we collect are determined by the needs and interests of our campus and the surrounding community.  The Library also collects selected Colorado State documents as well as a number of local documents.  In recent years, our collection has included more and more online documents in addition to the tangible formats such as print, microfiche, and CD's or DVD's.

Use the above tabs to help guide you to the information you need. 

 

How to Find Gov Docs in Kraemer Family Library

The government documents collection in Kraemer Family  Library is in a separate collection located on the second floor. Government Documents contain information on almost every subject, including education, business, politics, the environment, medicine and history. They vary in size from one page brochures to lengthy research reports. Some documents come in formats such as microfiche, CD's or DVD's and many titles are now published online by government agencies.

Records for many of our  government documents can be found in the library’s online catalog. You may search by author (personal or government agency), title, subject, keyword, or call number. Some of our pre-2007 documents are not cataloged.  They can be found through the document shelf list (see map).  If you need assistance using the shelf list, ask at the Reference Desk or contact the  Government Documents Coordinator.

To find government documents in the collection, use the call numbers provided in the online catalog, the CGP, or the shelflist. Each document has a call number on its front cover or on its spine. Federal document call numbers are called Superintendent of Documents call numbers or “SuDoc” numbers. Examples are HE20.2002: B52/8 and Y 4.C 43/2:H75/2.  (See the How to Read Call Numbers on Documents tab above for more detail on this numbering system.)  When you have the SuDoc call number, go to the documents area in the library to find the government document you are looking for. Microfiche and Maps are housed in special cabinets in the Documents area.  If you need a document that Kraemer Family Library does not own, consult the  Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)Prospector or Interlibrary Loan are available for requesting documents Kraemer Family Library does not own.

Another source for documents is the FDsys database. This database provides free electronic access to more than 1,000 databases of federal information.

If you need assistance with the documents collection, contact the Reference Desk or the Government Documents Coordinator.

 

Off Campus Access

You do not need to connect to the Library VPN in order to access online documents.  They are available free for all patrons.

Government Documents Coordinator

Profile Image
Ron Koch
Contact Info
Kraemer Family Library, 310
719-255-3224
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian!

Need help with research or using the library? You can chat, call, email, or text the Library's Reference Desk.

Chat

or

Call: 719-255-3295

Email: Send an Email

Text(sms): 719-344-2381

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip