Research Guides: Psychology: Articles and Databases

Psychology Journals

Browzine makes it convenient to discover and browse journal issues to keep up with the latest research.

A list of the top cited journals in psychology is available here.

You can also create your own shelf to receive alerts when new content is published in your favorite journals.

Best Databases for Finding Psychology Articles

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. PsycINFO is the world's most comprehensive source for bibliographic coverage of psychology and behavioral sciences literature.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found within the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Hosted on the Web of Knowledge/Web of Science Platform.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstracts database covering the following fields: chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, economics, and environmental sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
View PubMed Tutorials
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE citations, its largest component, as well as "in process" citations for new publications, resources that are out-of-scope for Medline, and more. This database is free and available to all via the Web but some full text links will only work for authorized UCCS affiliated users.

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan for Journal Articles

No UCCS holdings for your article?

Request that the article be delivered to you as a PDF by using ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan). This usually takes a few days - or less!

Is My Source Scholarly? (A Checklist)

Are you wondering if the article you found is scholarly? Ask youself these questions:

Is this an article that was published in a journal? (Hint: Look near the bottom or top of the page for a journal name, volume number, issue number, year and page numbers.)

Does the article tell you where the author works (and maybe their contact details)? (Hint: Look for footnotes by the author's name.)

Is there an abstract at the beginning of the article? (A summary of the article, written by the authors.)

Does the article end with a bibliography or list of works cited? (There could also be extensive footnotes.)

Is the language in the article more technical than a typical magazine or newspaper?

Does the article's formatting look really boring? (No advertisements or glossy color pictures.)

If you answered YES to most of these questions, the article you're looking at is probably scholarly!