Research Guides: VAPA 1050: Finding Articles

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan for Journal Articles

No UCCS holdings for your article?

Request that the article be delivered to you as a PDF by using ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan). This usually takes a few days - or less!

Library Proxy: Off-Campus Access

When you are doing research from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in to electronic resources with your UCCS username and password. This is just like logging into Canvas.

Click here if you experience problems accessing resources from off campus.

Subject Focused Databases

Use these databases to find articles on artists or other art topics.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of core journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Coverage often includes the entirety of each journal with the exception of the current two-three years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Includes journal and eBook collections.

General Databases

These databsaes cover all topic areas, including art. If the more specialized ones don't work you might try these.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

Searching Google Scholar

Search the more academic side of Google! Google Scholar can find journal articles, books, government reports, technical papers, etc. Make sure to read the record carefully so that you know what type of source you have found.

DON'T PAY FOR ARTICLES!!!!!!

If you are off campus follow these steps in Google Scholar to access any content the library owns:

On the opening screen of Google Scholar select the link for Settings at the top of the page.
Click on Library Links in the left hand menu and search for University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.
Check the box to add the right library and click on Save preferences.