Login to LibApps.

Health Sciences and Human Nutriton and Physiology Research: Books

Find a Book on the Shelves

To find a print book, first identify the correct section of the library by checking the location of the book. Most books are in the "Main Collection" which is on the 3rd floor.

Reading LC Call Numbers

Books sorted in correct order by call number. The book described in the text below has call number N66 .B634 1999

  • N - describes the subject area: read in alphabetical order
  • 66 -  describes the topic: read as a whole number
  • .B634 - describes the author's last name: read in alphabetical order, then the number as a decimal
  • 1999  - date of publication: read in chronological order

If you are unable to locate the book or the book is missing, ask for help at the Circulation Desk.

Using the Reference Collection

Nutrition encyclopedia cover. Decorative.
What are reference books?

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, professional handbooks (like the DSM-V), citation style guides, and atlases (like Netter's Atlas). 

What are encyclopedias good for?
  •  Getting a reliable definition for a theory, concept, condition, or intervention
  •  Learning about a new topic or concept so you're ready to read more detailed articles and arguments
  •  Identifying fundamental sources on a topic, like the articles that defined a theory or identified a condition
  •  Gathering keywords on your topic to find more sources
Where can I find reference books?
  •  Physical reference books are kept behind the Research Assistance Desk.
  •  We also have online reference books that you can find in the catalog or via OneSearch.

Suggest a HSCI/HPNU book!

Are we missing a book or a topic that you're interested in?

Please let us know by completing the form below or emailing the subject librarian. We cannot guarantee we'll purchase all recommended books, but we're always happy to hear suggestions on what our collection is missing.

Finding Books and Browsing Books

The books in the library are organized according to Library of Congress subject headings. This means books are organized by subject rather than by title or author. 

Search for Books or Ebooks in the Catalog
  1. From the library homepage, select the Books/Catalog tab and then choose Advanced Catalog Search. Decorative. Stack of books.
  2. Type in your search terms, then set the Material Type as Print for a physical book and Online for an electronic book. 

Tips for Searching

  • Unless you're looking for a known title, try to use only a few words or phrases. 
  • Check your spelling. The catalog is very literal, and a mispelled word will match no items. 
  • If we don't have what you're looking for, search Prospector to request the book be sent to UCCS from another library. To search Prospector, go to the Books/Catalog tab on the library homepage, and find the Prospector link. 
 
Browse Books in the Library

Below is a list of the relevant LOC call numbers. You can use them to locate in the library the area where books on a topic are generally located. All books whose call numbers start with these letters will be in the same area of the library.

  •  QM - Human anatomy
  •  QP - Physiology
  •  R - General medicine
  •  RA - Public aspects of medicine (including Public Health, food and food supply, rural health, personal health, nutrition, and hygeine)
  •  RC - Internal medicine
  •  RC581-607 - Allergies
  •  RC620-627 - Nutritional diseases
  •  RC952-954 - Geriatric care
  •  RC1200-1245 - Sports medicine
  •  RD792-811 - Physical rehabilitation post surgery
  •  RJ52-53 - Pediatric therapeutics
  •  RJ206-235 - Pediatric nutrition
  •  RM214-258 - Diet therapy and dietary cookbooks
  •  RM695-893 - Physical medicine (including physical, massage, exercise, and occupational therapy)

How to Read A Catalog Record


Reading Your Catalog Record

Call Number : This tells you where to find your book on the shelf. See Find a Book on the Shelves to find out how to read your call number. Books are organized by subject, which means other books on this topic will be shelved near this book. 

Subject: This tells you what LC subject areas your book falls under. If you click these, you can look at similar subjects or other books on this subject.

Status: This tells you if the book is available for you to check out. If not, use Prospector to search for other copies of the book at nearby libraries. 

Location: This tells you what general area of the library your book is in. 

Collection Locations

Main Collection On the upper floor 
Oversize/Double Oversize On the upper floor
Young Adult/Children On the main floor 
Gov. Docs On the main floor 
Reference Behind the Research Assistance Desk
Graphic Novels On the main floor 
Bound Periodicals On the main floor 
DVDs Behind the Research Assistance Desk