Login to LibApps.

ENGL 1410: Technology and Media: Articles

Finding articles

Cartoon of a scholarly article. Where to search:

  • OneSearch - when you're searching for something multidisciplinary or don't know what's out there
  • Subject specific databases - for articles from a specific discipline
  • Google Scholar - for very specific searches, multidisciplinary searches, and looking up citations.

Don't pay for articles!

When you're off campus, sign in using your UCCS email and password to access our electronic resources. If you can't get the article you want:

  • Does the library say we have the full text? Email the class librarian with the article details (author, title, year) and we'll find it for you.
  • We don't have it? Submit an ILL request to get your article in 2-7 days.
  • Searching in Google Scholar? Check that you've added University of Colorado at Colorado Springs to your Library Links in the settings.
  • For more info on Off-Campus access, click here.

Library Proxy: Off-Campus Access

When you are doing research from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in to electronic resources with your UCCS username and password. This is just like logging into Canvas.

Click here if you experience problems accessing resources from off campus.

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan for Journal Articles

No UCCS holdings for your article?

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan

Request that the article be delivered to you as a PDF by using ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan). This usually takes a few days - or less!

Searching Google Scholar

Search the more academic side of Google! Google Scholar can find journal articles, books, government reports, technical papers, etc. Make sure to read the record carefully so that you know what type of source you have found.

Google Scholar Search

DON'T PAY FOR ARTICLES!!!!!!

If you are off campus follow these steps in Google Scholar to access any content the library owns:

  1. On the opening screen of Google Scholar select the link for Settings at the top of the page.
  2. Click on Library Links in the left hand menu and search for University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.
  3. Check the box to add the right library and click on Save preferences.

Select a Database

Find article databases that cover specific subjects or multidisciplinary topics using the Find Databases by Subject in the Databases tab on the Library's home page

Shows databases tab of the library homepage searchbox with an arrow pointing to the drop menu of subjects.

Some Popular Databases for this Topic:

How to Read an Article Record


Reading your article record

When you find an article you think looks interesting, look at:

  • Abstract. A brief summary of the article. Read this before you read the whole article and decide if it's really relevant to your research.
  • Journal title. Is it scholarly? Look it up using Google, or use Ulrich's Periodicals
  • Author name and contact info. Are any listed? Do they provide an email address?
  • Subject terms. Add these to your keyword list and use when searching to find similar articles.