Research Guides: Sociology Research: Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Start Here: Sociology Databases

Social Services Abstracts & Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Searches both Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts at the same time.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found within the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Hosted on the Web of Knowledge/Web of Science Platform.

More databases are listed on the sociology database list.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text to literature related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Searches a mixture of peer reviewed journals and popular publications, such as magazines, in the areas of sport, recreation, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, history and sociology of sport, and training.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. Great for searching in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than one million records related to education research. This database searches scholarly and trade journal articles as well as some full-text publications.