Research Guides: Diversity and Inclusiveness Research: Journals & Databases

Library Proxy: Off-Campus Access

When you are doing research from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in to electronic resources with your UCCS username and password. This is just like logging into Canvas.

Click here if you experience problems accessing resources from off campus.

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan for Journal Articles

No UCCS holdings for your article?

Request that the article be delivered to you as a PDF by using ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan). This usually takes a few days - or less!

Recommended Specialized Databases

Defining Gender 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
Access to a vast body of original source material from a wide range of original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. Topics covered include conduct and politeness, domesticity and the family, consumption and leisure, education and sensibility and the body.
Everyday Life and Women in America This link opens in a new window
A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Womens History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Search for primary documents that present a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.

Scholarly Journals

Listed below are scholarly journals that support research on general topics in diversity and inclusion. To conduct a search for scholarly journals that focus on narrower topics of diversity and inclusion use the library's Journal Search.

Equality, diversity and inclusion: an international journal
EDI offers a platform for critical and rigorous exploration of equal opportunities concerns including gender, ethnicity, class, disability, age, sexual orientation, religion, and other forms of inequalities in the context of society, organizations and work.
Journal of cultural diversity
The Journal of Cultural Diversity unites theory, research and practice issues related to cultural diversity from the perspective of a variety of disciplines.
Journal of Diversity in Higher Education
Multidisciplinary in perspective, this quarterly journal offers research findings, theory, and promising practices to help guide the efforts of institutions of higher education in the pursuit of inclusive excellence.
Understanding and Dismantling Privilege
Freely available full text journal which focuses on the intersectional aspects of privilege, bridging academia and practice, highlighting activism, and offering a forum for creative introspection on issues of inequity, power and privilege.

Recommended General Databases

Since research in diversity and inclusion is oftentimes interdisciplinary, general databases may be best databases to use for your research. Below are some recommended databases. For more a more comprehensive list, see the General Databases page on the Library's website.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstracts database covering the following fields: chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, economics, and environmental sciences.