History Research

Nearly 26,000 pamphlets covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of the 19th century.

From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters.

Collection of 17th, 18th, and 19th century newspapers and periodicals from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library (Section I), the Harry Ransom Research Center (Section II), the British Library Newspapers (Section III) and the newspaper and periodical collections from the Chetham's Library, Manchester and the Brotherton Library and University of Leeds (Section IV). Topics covered include Literature, the Theatre, the origins and rise of Romanticism, Politics, Revolution and Rebellion, Social issues, Gender, Society Life, Religion and the influence of the Press.

Contains primary sources spanning five centuries from a translation of Columbus's 1492 voyage to 21st Century works on Imperialism"; thousands of images of unique source material including maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings and rare books. All items are included in their entirety and the sources encourage multiple viewpoints. Includes detailed indexing that enables the sources to be explored in a variety of ways (by period, by date, by person and subject).

An index to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. Based on the authoritative bibliography European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.

This database searches both the Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers and the Times London Digital Archive 1785-2006 giving a wide range of historical newspaper coverage from the United States and United Kingdom.

Sourced from the archive of The Worshipful Company of Stationers & Newspaper Makers, located at Stationers’ Hall in the City of London, this resource allows access to a vast and unique collection of primary source documents. It includes resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.

An interconnected, fully searchable, growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Displays the original text beside the English translation.

This database provides historians and political scientists with direct access to documents from the highest level of the British government during Harold Macmillan's term as prime minister. Included are 30,000 images of original documents.

Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.

This module is a rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organization, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today. It includes records of both the CMS and the many other missionary societies which have become associated or amalgamated with it over its lifetime.

Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare's plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

First published in 1785, The Times of London has over 200 years of historical news content that can be easily searched.

New City Press, in conjunction with the Augustinian Heritage Institute, has undertaken the first complete translation of the works of Saint Augustine. This 4th release, with an additional 6 volumes, including The City of God, contains 41 volumes of the printed series.