Anthropology Research

This page contains information about properly citing sources in academic papers. Listed are the most popular citation styles used in Anthropology. Always check with your professor for their preferred citation style. Also included in this page are resources and tips for avoiding plagiarism. For more help or information about successfully integrating sources into your paper, contact a librarian or the UCCS Writing Center.

Citation management tools allow a user to:

• Collect, organize, and retrieve citation information from books, articles and websites.
• Interface with the library databases and with websites.
• Work with word-processing software (Microsoft Word, Google Docs, etc.) to insert properly formatted footnotes or citations and bibliographies into a research paper

Chicago Manual of Style (Author-Date) is the primary citation style for most anthropologists, however you should always check with your instructor. KFL has access online and physical copies in the library to help students and researchers to create accurate citations. However, there are also citation management tools to make this process easier too. 

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation manager tool that is supported by the Kraemer Family Library. You can download Mendeley on multiple devices and sync your citations across the devices using your online Mendeley account.

• Mendeley has both a cloud based version and a standalone software version that you download on your computer (PC or Mac). Users can sync between desktop software and an online account. Sign up for a free account and download Mendeley.
• Easy to highlight, annotate and organize PDFs, but Mendeley provides 2GB of free online storage.
• Most popular citation styles are available (APA, Chicago, MLA, etc.).
• Using the Mendeley citation plugin you can create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies in Microsoft Word.
• Get help online at Mendeley Tutorials.

Zotero

Zotero is free open source software available for download on your computer or used online via the web. You can download on multiple devices and Zotero automatically synchronizes your data.

• Zotero has both a cloud based version or a standalone software version that you can download to your computer (PC or Mac). Download Zotero . Users can sync between desktop software and an online account.
• Send PDFs and citations to Zotero using a Zotero Connector browser extension. Store PDFs, files, images, links, and whole web pages for easy retrieval. Zotero provides 300MB of free online storage.
• Using the Zotero citation plugin you can create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies in Microsoft Word. Users can also generate a quick bibliography of selected citations directly from Zotero.
• Most popular citation style avilable and you can download more.
• To get help online find more information at Zotero Documentation.