Research Guides: Anthropology Research: Anthropology & Subject-Related Databases

KFL Databases

This list, while not exhaustive, are some of the databases at KFL that might be the most helpful to you as you start your research. If you aren't finding what you are looking for, reach out to your liaison librarian for some research assistance!

Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts from the print issues of Abstracts in Anthropology ranging from 2001 to present.
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
Online journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the British Museum
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Contains current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
An online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The eHRAF database is organized by cultures and ethnic groups, and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of core journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Coverage often includes the entirety of each journal with the exception of the current two-three years.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography contains over one million citations from journals, series and book publishers.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. PsycINFO is the world's most comprehensive source for bibliographic coverage of psychology and behavioral sciences literature.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
View PubMed Tutorials
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE citations, its largest component, as well as "in process" citations for new publications, resources that are out-of-scope for Medline, and more. This database is free and available to all via the Web but some full text links will only work for authorized UCCS affiliated users.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to the Elsevier Science journal collection which consists of over 15,000 journals including approximate 735 titles in full-text. Subjects include Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Business & Management Science, Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Mathematics & Computer Science, Microbiology & Immunology, Neurosciences, Pharmacology & Toxicology, Physics, and Social Sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstracts database covering the following fields: chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, economics, and environmental sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found within the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Hosted on the Web of Knowledge/Web of Science Platform.

Open Access Journals & Databases

Open Access journals and databases are dedicated to make academic information freely available online. These are not associated with KFL, but shouldn't be behind a paywall.

Anthropologi.info's List of Open Access Anthropology Journals
A selection of Open Access journals in anthropology and related fields. All these journals provide free access to all articles. Journals with restricted access will not be listed.
Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA)
"The primary objectives of CESSDA are to facilitate and promote more and wider use of high-quality data in social, economic and political research and in turn, improve our understanding of ongoing societal processes, the problems involved and the solutions available. The vision of CESSDA is to provide a full scale sustainable research infrastructure that enables the research community to conduct high-quality research which in turn leads to effective solutions to the major challenges facing society today."
Journal of Open Archaeology Data (JOAD)
The Journal of Open Archaeology Data (JOAD) features peer reviewed data papers describing archaeology datasets with high reuse potential.
PLoS-Medicine
PLOS Medicine is the leading open-access medical journal, providing an innovative and influential venue for research and comment on the major challenges to human health worldwide. We specifically seek to publish papers which have relevance across a range of settings and that address the major environmental, social, and political determinants of health, as well as the biological.
PLoS-ONE
PLOS ONE features reports of original research from all disciplines within science and medicine. By not excluding papers on the basis of subject area, PLOS ONE facilitates the discovery of the connections between papers whether within or between disciplines.

Kraemer Family Library

Anthropology Research

KFL Databases

Open Access Journals & Databases