This is the "Home" page of the "Creating Search Alerts in Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

We are transitioning to a new version of LibGuides during August 4th-11th. During this transition, there will be periods of downtime where this website will be unavailable. If you have any concern about this process, please contact this guide's creator.


Creating Search Alerts in Databases   Tags: search alerts  

Last Updated: Jan 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uccs.edu/searchalerts Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to this Guide

This LibGuide introduces the concept of search alerts which is a feature in many of the library's databases. This is not designed to be a comprehensive guide of all the library's databases, but rather a place to become familair with the option and how to set them up in some the library's more popular databases.

Most library databases have an option to create custom search alerts, but the way to create search alerts differ depending on the database vendor. Each tab will discuss a different database's method for setting up search alerts.

 

What's a Search Alert?

A search alert (also known as an auto-alert) is typical feature in library databases that allows you to do a search once and then be notified whenever a new journal article meets your search criteria is added to the database.

So basically, the database can be set to notify to you automatically whenever an article that may you want to read becomes available!

 

About RSS

rss image

Search alerts are typically available via email or through an RSS feed. This guide will show how to subscribe to RSS search alert feeds, but does not cover general information about RSS or RSS aggregators. For this type of information see What is RSS?

 

Got Questions?

Feel free to Ask a Librarian!

If you're at home, you can call us at 719-255-3295, email us at refdesk@uccs.edu, or chat with us (see chat widget below).

 

Ask a Librarian!

Need help with research or using the library? You can chat, call, email, or text the Library's Reference Desk.

Chat

or

Call: 719-255-3295

Email: Send an Email

Text(sms): 719-344-2381

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip