Use KFL's databases to find journal articlesEBSCOhost databasesPubMed
Get full text of articles cited in the Library's databasesSearch for specific journals at KFLSearch for specific journal articlesWhen full-text is NOT available at KFL
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Nursing & Health Sciences - Basics For Online Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing & Health Sciences - Basics For Online Students  

Basics
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uccs.edu/nursinghealthsciences Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

First Things First

The Kraemer Family Library's home page www.uccs.edu/library is your research “launch pad.”  The “blue boxes” provide links to research resources:

  • Kraemer Library Catalog (place to look for books and other materials owned by KFL)
  • Select a database (databases are places to look for journal articles)
  • Journal search (use this feature to find out if KFL owns a particular journal that you need).

   

Set up your VPN connection. If you are off-campus, you must use a VPN connection to access KFL’s journal databases and other online resources.  Once it's installed, you must logon to the VPN before you begin your research from an off-campus computer. 

  

Set up your Interlibrary Loan Account (ILLiad) so you can order and receive journal articles that KFL does not own.

 

 

Define Your Research Topic

Before writing a paper or conducting a literature review, identify keywords, terms, and concepts that you can use to search for information on your topic. Realize that you may need to:

  •  narrow your topic if it is too broad (clue: you find too much information about it), or
  •  broaden your topic if it is too narrow (clue: you find little or no information about it). 
 

Other Useful Links on the KFL Home Page

Use the Online Reference Collection to find general and specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and directories, that you can access online.

Link to KFL's Online Reference Collection

For example, this is where you will find links to, A Dictionary of Nursing and the Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine, both are specialized dictionaries found in the Oxford Reference Online collection of medicine resources (Oxford Reference Online is found under the Dictionaries & Thesauri link)VPN required for off-campus access.

Also, try searching the Kraemer Library Catalog for specialized dictionaries and reference resources that may be available to you online. 

Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Beth Chambers
Contact Info
Kraemer Family Library
ELPC 310B
719-255-3289
Send Email
 

Tutorials & Guides

Visit Tutorials & Guides for tips on how to evaluate resources on the web; how to cite your sources; how to find government information; and more.

Tutorials and Guides

For example, this is where you'll find SPLINT, a tutorial for KFL nursing and health sciences students. It covers the basics of scholarly research and resource evaluation.

 

Ask a Librarian!

Need help with research or using the library? You can chat, call, email, or text the Library's Reference Desk.

Chat

or

Call: 719-255-3295

Email: Send an Email

Text(sms): 719-344-2381

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip