Login to LibApps.

How Do I Use RefWorks?: Microsoft Word Add-Ons

Write-N-Cite and Citation Manager

RefWorks offers 2 different tools (or add-ins) to help you cite your references while you are writing your paper in Microsoft Word: Write-N-Cite and Citation Manager. Which tool you will use depends on whether you have a Mac or PC and what version of Microsoft Word you are using. Both tools provide you with the same functionality and allow you to create a bibliography and create in-text references in Microsoft Word.

Write-N-Cite is available for the following users:

Windows 7, 8, 10 Users (Word 2016, 2013, 2010, and 2007)

Mac Users (Windows 2013, 2010, and 2007)

Citation Manager is available for the following users:

Microsoft Word 2016 users

Mac Users Word 2016 - must use Citation Manager

Write-N-Cite

Instructions for Installing Write-N-Cite:

You can get started with Write-N-Cite easily and view the formatting of your in-text citations, footnotes and bibliography – all while you are writing your paper.

 Step 1. Launch Write-N-Cite

Note:  The first time you launch Write-N-Cite, you must be connected to the internet in order to log in to your RefWorks library and sync it with Write-N-Cite.

Tip:  In most cases, there is no need to log out of Write-N-Cite when you are not using it.  If you are using Write-N-Cite on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of Write-N-Cite when you complete your work.  If someone does gain access to a system with your RefWorks library logged in to Write-N-Cite, they will not be able to change anything in your account since Write-N-Cite doesn’t have any features to edit your items.

Logging In To Write-N-Cite:

1. Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon. 



2. Click Log In.


 3. Click "Flow" and then enter your email address and Flow password and click "Login".


The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks library.  This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references and collections.  Any time you make changes to your RefWorks items you can click Sync my Database your new and edited items will be added to Write-N-Cite.

During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the Write-N-Cite functions will not become active until syncing has finished.

Step 2.  Selecting Your Output Style

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document.  Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

1. Click the Style drop down. You will see a list of RefWorks' recent styles.

2. Click on the style name.

3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on another Style in the list and selecting a new output style. Access to other Styles can be gained by using Select Other Style at the bottom of the list.



Step 3.  Write Your Paper and Inserting Citations or Footnotes and Your Bibliography

Note:  You may want to sync your RefWorks library with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added items you want to use in your paper.  Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated items.

When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:

1.  Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box.  If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option.   You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option. 


2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access your items by Collection or by searching.  The Search box will search every field.


Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title.  Right-click on the item and select Show Full Reference Detail to display all fields of information (file attachments are not displayed).

 
Full Reference View:


3.  Click on the item you wish to insert into your paper.  You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.

Tip:  Add more references to the citation using the plus icon, remove them by using the minus icon, or reorder the references with the up and down arrows in the Compose Citation area.

4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit References area.  Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action.  However, you can always add a new in-text citation.


6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing.  Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography.  Note: the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper. 

You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location.


Step 4. Save your formatted paper (you should really save it periodically while you are writing!).  

Loading

Citation Manager

Instructions for Installing Citation Manager:

Once you are logged in, the RCM sidebar will look like the screenshot below, defaulting to All References view. Start writing and when you are ready to insert your first citation:


User-added image

If you want to work with a specific folder of references, just click on “All References” to see your list of folders. Choose the folder with the references you need for your paper.


User-added image

You can sort your references using the dropdown menu to arrange references by date added, by date accessed, by date published, by title or by author.

You can also use the “search” option to search for specific references. The search option searches all fields.


User-added image

You can start writing your paper and when you are ready to cite a reference in your paper, click on the citation and click the “cite this” button. The in-text citation will be inserted (using the last output style you used in RefWorks).


User-added image

There is also a citation editing option. Click “Edit and Cite” to add or modify page numbers, hide the author name, or hide the publication year in your in-text citation (dependent upon the output style you are using). You will also see a preview of the in-text citation and your bibliography entry.


User-added image

Continue to add citations and watch your bibliography update right in front of you. You can also add footnotes (make sure your output style supports them!) by using the footnote option using the radio button above or by choosing the “Format for footnotes” option from the “hamburger” menu in the upper right.

As you write your paper and insert your citations, you’ll see your bibliography format in your document. Inserting additional citations will automatically update both your in-text citations and bibliography.

Changing your output style:

It’s easy to change the output style for your paper. In the RefWorks Citation Manager sidebar in your document, click on the “hamburger” menu icon   and select “Change citation style”


User-added image

Deleting or changing citations

Within your document, citations are inserted as separate “block” elements. When you click on them, you’ll see a bounding box that delimits the citation. To delete the citation, you must delete the bounding box.


User-added image

  1. Highlight the citation you wish to delete and use the backspace key or delete key to remove it.
  2. Insert the new citation (if applicable).
  3. Click on the “hamburger” icon   and select “Update document”.  Your document will refresh and the bibliography entry will be removed or updated (if you added a replacement citation).


User-added image

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the RefWorks Citation Manager add-in.

NOTE: Changes are not made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

Loading