Login to LibApps.

Political Science Research Methods: Find Articles

Selecting the Best Databases

Your topic will determine which are the best subject databases for you. For example, if you are doing a study on management in museums, you would use the databases listed under Education (as museums are considered education centers), Public Affairs (as museums can be public or nonprofit organizations) and Business (which will also deal with nonprofits AND management issues). You can also use some of the Art & Art History Databases as well.

Library Proxy: Off-Campus Access

When you are doing research from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in to electronic resources with your UCCS username and password. This is just like logging into Blackboard.

Click here if you experience problems accessing resources from off campus.

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan for Journal Articles

No UCCS holdings for your article?

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan

Request that the article be delivered to you as a PDF by using ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan). This usually takes a few days - or less!

First time users must create an account. You will need to use your UCCS email address and student ID number.

General Databases

General databases cover a wide range of topics and should include your topic.

More databases are listed on the General Database page.

Is My Source Scholarly? (A Checklist)

pictures of journals

Are you wondering if the article you found is scholarly? Ask youself these questions:

checkmarkIs this an article that was published in a journal? (Hint: Look near the bottom or top of the page for a journal name, volume number, issue number, year and page numbers.)

Does the article tell you where the author works (and maybe their contact details)? (Hint: Look for footnotes by the author's name.)

Is there an abstract at the beginning of the article? (A summary of the article, written by the authors.)

Does the article end with a bibliography or list of works cited? (There could also be extensive footnotes.)

Is the language in the article more technical than a typical magazine or newspaper?

Does the article's formatting look really boring? (No advertisements or glossy color pictures.)

If you answered YES to most of these questions, the article you're looking at is probably scholarly!