Research Guides: Music Capstone: Citing Resources

Use the Correct Style Manual

It is important to use the correct style manual when writing your papers. Below are links to several popular style manuals.

APA Style Guide from Purdue OWL
A quick guide to APA citation style
Chicago Manual of Style Guide from the Purdue OWL
A quick guide to Chicago style

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
MLA Handbook Plus provides online access to the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. Everything in the new edition of the handbook is available on MLA Handbook Plus. It also includes additional features like cross-linking of related content, and split-view to allow viewing of figures and illustrations while reading corresponding content.

Help From the Writing Center

Multiliteracy Center

The Multiliteracy Center can help with formatting papers and citing sources in APA, MLA, and Chicago style rules. Check their website for consultation scheduling and other services.

RefWorks

UCCS students and faculty have access to RefWorks. You can set up an account with your UCCS email address.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks lets you collect your research sources in one place to format bibliographies or works cited pages.

The guide linked below describes how to use RefWorks in more detail:

Avoiding Plagiarism

Plagiarism is the use of another author's words, theories, or ideas without giving proper credit.

avoid plagiarism

The best practice to avoid plagiarism is to give credit where credit is due. Here is a brief list of guidelines for when information must be cited:

When you use exact words or a specific phrase taken from an original source like a book, journal article, or magazine article.
When you rephrase an author’s ideas or information in your own words (paraphrase).
When you re-use tables, images, audio or videos from an original source.
When you use information from an interview or formal conversation with an individual.

Always take a few minutes when you proofread your papers to check for common mistakes that can lead to plagiarism. Here’s a short checklist:

check Does every direct quotation have a source citation?

check Does every paraphrase or summary have a source citation?

check Does every image, table, or other visual materials have a source citation?

check Does your list of works cited include all the sources used in your paper?

Cite It Right
Call Number: PN171.F56 F69 2007 (Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2007

Avoiding Plagiarism from Purdue OWL
Provides basic guidelines and practices for properly integrating sources into scholarly papers.