Login to LibApps.

International Student Library Guide: Finding Articles

An Introduction to the Kraemer Family Library for International & ESL Students

Find Articles About a Research Topic

Use databases when you need to find an article (or articles) about a topic. Kraemer Family Library has over 200 different databases. To make selecting a database for your topic easier, we have created lists of databases by subject. A good place to start your research is in a general database which covers many different topics all at once. 

Watch the "Using a Database to Find Articles" video tutorial to learn more about searching databases. If you need more help, contact a librarian at the Research Assistance desk.

Library Proxy: Off-Campus Access

When you are doing research from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in to electronic resources with your UCCS username and password. This is just like logging into Blackboard.

Click here if you experience problems accessing resources from off campus.

Using a Database to Find Articles (Video Tutorial)

What is a Scholarly Journal Article?

If your professor told you to use scholarly, or peer-reviewed, sources for your assignment, you need to find an article published in a peer-reviewed journal. Use a library search tools to locate articles, then check them for the following features:

checkmarkIs this an article that was published in a journal? (Hint: Look near the bottom or top of the page for a journal name, volume number, issue number, year and page numbers.)

Does the article tell you where the author works (and maybe their contact details)? (Hint: Look for footnotes by the author's name.)

Is there an abstract at the beginning of the article? (A summary of the article, written by the authors.)

Does the article end with a bibliography or list of works cited? (There could also be extensive footnotes.)

Is the language in the article more technical than a typical magazine or newspaper?

Does the article's formatting look really boring? (No advertisements or glossy color pictures.)

If you answered YES to most of these questions, the article you're looking at is probably scholarly!

Searching Google Scholar

Search the more academic side of Google! Google Scholar can find journal articles, books, government reports, technical papers, etc. Make sure to read the record carefully so that you know what type of source you have found.

DON'T PAY FOR ARTICLES!!!!!!

If you are off campus follow these steps in Google Scholar to access any content the library owns:

  1. On the opening screen of Google Scholar select the link for Settings at the top of the page.
  2. Click on Library Links in the left hand menu and search for University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.
  3. Check the box to add the right library and click on Save preferences.