Login to LibApps.

International Student Library Guide: Using the Library

An Introduction to the Kraemer Family Library for International & ESL Students

Library Location

The Kraemer Family Library is located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the El Pomar Center. One entrance connects the library directly to the University Center.

Click here to see a full map of the library.

Library Resources

The Library has a number of resources that are available for all students to use. You may even be a bit surprised of what resources are available at our library!

Book Collections

Main Collection: The majority of the books in the library are located on the 3rd floor of the library. 

Reference Collection: Reference books, like encyclopedias and dictionaries, are located on the 2nd floor behind the Research Assistance desk. 

Popular Reading: This collection, located on the 2nd floor, contains fiction and non-fiction books for recreational reading. 

Young Adult & Children's Collection: Books for children and teens are located on the 2nd floor near the restrooms. 

DVD Collection

The Library has a great collection of documentaries, foreign language films, and popular movies located on the 2nd floor of the library. These DVDs are available for check out and can be taken out of the library. Most films have English subtitles. 

Loanable Items

Many items are available to check out from circulation. These include: headphones, phone chargers, computer chargers, white board markers, portable DVD players, and umbrellas. For a complete list of items, stop by the circulation desk. 

Checking Out

Once you have your library item, bring it to a circulation desk at either entrance. UCCS students, faculty, and staff will use their UCCS ID card to check out.

Loan Periods

Books: Undergraduates- 3 weeks; Graduate students- 6 weeks; Faculty/Staff- 3 months

DVDs & CDs: 1 week

Child & Young Adult Literature: 3 weeks

Popular Reading: 2 weeks

Renewals

If no one has placed a hold on your item, you can usually renew it up to 3 times. You can renew items in person, over the phone (719-255-3296), or online using My Library Account (you will need the barcode on the back of your UCCS ID).

Library Fines

Most items have a 3 day grace period. You will be charged $1.00 on the 4th day after the item's due date and 50 cents each day after. 

Find a Study Space

Collaborative Study Space

If you need to work with a group, or want to chat with friends while you study, use the collaborative work space near the exit to the university center on the 2nd floor of the library.

Group Study Rooms

There are 33 study rooms located around the library. Some can be reserved, but many are only available on a first-come, first-serve basis. You can use the online reservation system to reserve a group study room

Parent/Child Study Room

If you come to the library with your children, feel free to use the parent/child study room. This room is on the third floor. All children must be supervised by their adult guardian if they are under the age of 14.

Quiet Zone

The quiet study zone is located on the 3rd floor of the library, and includes the area above the exit to the University Center until the stairway. Please silence phones, use headphones when needed, and whisper.

Use the Computers

Students

You don't need to sign up for a computer - just sit down at an empty machine and log in with your UCCS username and password.

  • Print from a lab computer, then use your student ID card or ID number to release the print job from any printer. 
  • Printing is billed directly to your Paw Prints account. To log into your Paw Prints account, click here
  • Scanners are in the multimedia lab behind the Computer Assistance Desk (on the main floor of the library).

Visitors/Public

There are 12 public computers for UCCS visitors - 6 on the main floor next to the Research Assistance desk and 6 on the upper level behind the stairs.Visitors do not need to sign up or ask to use these computers. 

  • If you need to print, you must use cash to purchase a public printing card. Ask a librarian for more help with public printing.
  • Visitors with their own laptops can set up temporary access to UCCS WiFi - click here for more information.
  • Public patrons can only gain access to our electronic resources (eBooks, article databases, streaming films) while in the library.