Login to LibApps.

How do I Find Book Reviews?: Use Databases to Find Book Reviews

Ask the Reference Desk

ask now icon

 

Phone: 719-255-3295

Text(sms): 719-344-2381

Email: Send an email

Database Search Tips

Many general and subject specific databases index and provide full text access to reviews. Here are a few things to remember when searching for book reviews:

  • Look for an option to limit your search results by document type to reviews.
    • Databases contain many different types of resources, including journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Limiting the search results will make it much easier to locate book reviews.
  • Do not search for reviews using the book author.
    • Book reviews are indexed in databases by the review author, not the book author.
  • It is often easiest to find reviews by typing in the title of the book as a keyword search.
    • Some reviews are given a special title, but most are titled the same as the book that is being reviewed. So to find the book review you would put the title, i.e. "The Great Gatsby" in to the search box and limit results to book reviews.
  • If direct access to the full text review is not immediately available from the database that you are using, remember to use the "Search for print or electronic full text" link.
    • This link will search other library materials to see if the full text is available from our library. If our library does not have the full text, you can request the review using ILLiad.
  • If you need a scholarly review, limit your search results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" AND limit the source type to "Reviews".
    • Be careful doing this, as it will greatly limit your results. Always start with the source type "Reviews" limit first and then add the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" limit second.
  • Be sure that the database you are using covers the subject area of the book.
    • For instance, if you are looking for book reviews about "Lament of the Dead: Psychology after Jung's Red Book", you might try the PsycINFO database in addition to a general database like Academic Search Premier.

Start Your Search in a General Database

If you cannot find what you are looking for in a general database and your title is subject specific, try your search in a subject database. You can find a list of our subject databases here.