Login to LibApps.

How do I Create Search Alerts in Databases?: ProQuest Databases

ProQuest Search Alerts

Some examples of ProQuest databases are: Sociological Abstracts, and ProQuest Criminal Justice.

To create search alerts in Proquest databases, first you will need to create a My Research account.

Steps

1. Locate and click the My Research link in the blue bar on the top of the page.

2. Locate and click the Create a My Research account link that is to the right of the Login box.

3. Fill out the information requested in the popup box.

  • You do not need to use your UCCS email address.
  • Your username and password do not have to be your UCCS username and password.

4. Click the Create Account button and you are ready to go. 

Each time you enter ProQuest after setting up your account, remember to log in so that you can access saved searches and records.

Steps

1. Log into your My Research account using the My Research link in the blue bar at the top of the page.

2.. Do a search in a ProQuest Database, modify your search terms, and set limiters until you are happy with the results you are receiving.

3.. Click on the Create Alert link, which will deploy a pop up box.

4. In the Step 1 box, give the search a name that is short, yet meaningful in the Name this alert box.

5. In the Step 2 box, enter a subject into the Subject box.

  • This is the subject that will be displayed on the Subject line in your email alerts.

  • If you do not enter a subject, the email subject line wil be your search terms.

6. (Optional) Enter a short (250 word) message that will appear in the message of your email alert by clicking on Add Message.

7. In the Step 3 box, choose one of the options for each of the following fields: Include Search Details, Include highlighting, and Include (this will ask you about some document preferences).

8. In the Step 4 box, select how often you would like to receive email alerts.

  • Using the Stop After option you can also decide when you want to stop receiving the alerts.

9. Click on Create Alert and an Alert Summary will appear on the screen.

Steps

1. Log into your My Research account using the My Research link in the blue bar at the top of the page.

2.. Do a search in a ProQuest Database, modify your search terms, and set limiters until you are happy with the results you are receiving.

3. Click on Create RSS Feed, which will deploy a pop up box on your screen.

Image of how to set up an RSS feed in ProQuest databases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. In the Name this feed box, give your search a name that is short, yet meaningful.  

5. Define your RSS feed preferences in the second box.

6. Click the Create Feed button.

7. You should then see a Your feed has been created box that will provide you with the address for your RSS feed which you will need to copy and paste into your favorite Feed Reader.

Image of RSS feed link in ProQuest databases

Loading