Login to LibApps.

How do I Use EndNote Basic?: Export & Import Citations

Overview

Every database provider has a different method for getting citations into EndNote Basic.  Some databases allow you to export them directly to EndNote Basic.  With other databases, you have to export (download) your citations to a file somewhere on your computer and then import (upload) that file to EndNote Basic.

 

The following examples demonstrate how this is done in the EBSCOhost databases (direct export method) and in PubMed and Google Scholar (export/import method).

Exporting and Importing Citations

EBSCOhost databases include Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, PsycINFO, etc.

EBSCOhost databases will export citations directly to EndNote Web:

1. Search the database for articles on your topic.

2. From your results, select the citations you want to export to EndNote Web by saving them to a folder.

Picture of how to save articles to a folder in an EBSCOhost database

3. Open the folder of saved citations.

 Picture of how to open your folder in an EBSCOhost database

4. Select the citations to export using the check boxes to the left of the numbers.

5. When you selected all the citations you want, click the Export link.

Picture of where to select articles to export in an EBSCOhost database

5. Export the selected citations to a file formatted for Direct Export to Endnote Web and then hit the Save button. (You may need to disable your popup blocker for this to work.) 

Picture of the export option to choose to send files to EndNote Web in an EBSCOhost database

6. After you hit the “Save” button, your references are exported into the group called, “Unfiled,” in EndNote Basic. (If you are not logged on to EndNote Web, you will be asked to logon at this time.)

Picture of where to find the exported citations in EndNote Web

PubMed cannot export citations directly to EndNote Web. You must save them in a file on your computer and then “Import” them into EndNote Web.

1. Search PubMed for articles on your topic.

2. From your results, using the check boxes next to the citations, select the ones that you want to import into EndNote Web.

Picture of how to select the articles you want to export in PubMed

3. Add the selected citations to the Clipboard to make them easier to manage: Select Send to. Choose destination, Clipboard. Select the Add to Clipboard button.

Picture of how to send the selected citations to the clipboard in PubMed

4. Go to the Clipboard by selecting the Clipboard items.

5. Select the items in the Clipboard, and create a file for them in the MEDLINE format: Select Send to. Choose the destination File. Select the MEDLINE format. Select the Create File button. When the Download File window appears, save the file to your Desktop or to a file that you can find easily on your computer.

Picture of how to create a file for the exported citations in PubMed

6. Close the file once it is downloaded and login to EndNote Basic.

7. Go to the EndNote Basic Collect tab to import your PubMed citations. Browse for the file you saved on your computer.  Choose the Import Option, “PubMed (NLM)." Use the To box to choose which group you want your references to be imported to.  Select the Import button.

Picture of how to import the file of citaitons into EndNote Web

8After you hit the Save button, your references are imported into the group you specificed and can be found in your My References collection.

Google Scholar is the more academic side of Google that searches journal articles, books, citations, conference proceedings, and other gray literature. Exporting citations from Google Scholar is a fairly easy process:

1. Click on Scholar Preferences located in the top right part of the screen.

Picture of where to set Google Scholar preferences

2. Under Scholar Preferences, scroll down to the bottom to Bibliographer Manager. Choose 'Show links to import citations into' and select EndNote from the drop down menu. Click the Save Preferences button (top and bottom of the page) to return to searching.

Picture of where to set citation importation to in Google Scholar

3. In your search results you will see links below the title to "Import into EndNote". Even results that do not have full-text available will have the import link. Save the file to your computer.

Picture of where to find the Import into EndNote option on Google Scholar results

4. Next, you need to import your citation into EndNote Web. So login to your account on the EndNote Web site.

5. Click on the Collect tab and then on Import References.

6. Use the Choose File button to select the file you saved above. Click Open.

7. Under Import Options click on the drop-down list and select EndNote Import.

8. Select a group/folder to put the records in. Click Import.

Picture of where to go to import citations in EndNote Web

Loading

Helpful Links